What will be my Attorney's fees?

In Florida almost all personal injury claims, including car accident claims, are handled by lawyers working on a contingency fee basis. That means you only pay a fee if there is a recovery. The lawyer’s fees will be determined by a signed, written agreement between the client and the lawyer.

You can expect attorney’s fee to be between 33.33% for claims settled before the case is filed and answered in a litigious setting. You can expect attorney’s fee for cases that are in suit to be 40%. There may be cases where a government entity is the defendant in the claim and the attorney’s fee is 25%.

What will be my Cost?

We offer free consultation to all potential personal injury cases. There are no obligations during your consultation, strictly confidential. You will have the opportunity to present the facts of your personal injury case and find out your legal rights and options.

How much is my case worth?

The value of a Personal Injury case depends on several different factors including:

 

-Pain and suffering
-Long-term financial troubles caused by the accident
-Amount of money lost from past and future wages
-Expected cost or physical therapy and rehabilitation or physical therapy
-Medical Expenses
-How severe the injuries are

How long does it take to settle a claim?

From the time your insurance company receives notice of the loss, they are allowed 30 calendar days to settle your first party claim. The time may be extended if you fail to cooperate with them or they need to conduct additional investigation, but the company must provide you with written notice explaining the reason if the claim settlement process takes longer than 30 days.

Who is going to pay my medical bills?

The No Fault Insurance on the vehicle you own will pay your medical bills up to $10,000.00 Lets talks about Florida No Fault Insurance and what it really covers. Florida is a No Fault State what that means is that it doesn’t matter who was at fault for the accident the “No Fault/PIP” insurance on your car will pay your medical bills up to $10,000.00 and the other persons insurance will pay their medical bills up to $10,000.00.

It doesn’t matter who is at fault for the accident your insurance on your vehicle is liable for your medical bills up to $10,000.00, that’s why they call it No Fault Insurance. But many of you will say wait a minute, I was a passenger in my friend’s car, and my car was not involved in the crash. Why does my car insurance have to pay? Well the answer to that is your car insurance will follow your body.

That means the “No Fault/PIP” insurance that you should have on your car, even if it is sitting in the driveway, will be liable to pay your medical bills up to $10,000 if you were involved in an accident. You could have been a passenger in your friend’s car, your brother’s car or you could have been a pedestrian on the street.

Your “No Fault/PIP” insurance will follow your body. This is what they mean by No Fault. It doesn’t matter who is at fault for the accident your insurance will follow your body and pay your medical bills that were a result of the accident.

This is just a brief summary of Florida “No Fault/PIP” Law. If you want more information on insurance coverage order our FREE Book “Insurance Company Secrets What Your Insurance Company Forgot to Tell You!”

If the accident was my fault, can I still recover compensation?

Some states, like Florida, have no-fault insurance laws. This means that you may be able to make some kind of recovery of damages from your insurance company. In other states, it is more difficult to recover compensation if your fault is over a certain level. South Florida Personal Injury Center can advise you on your local area’s rules. Call us for a free consult today!

What is PIP?

PIP insurance, or personal injury protection, is what you would purchase in so-called “no-fault states,” of which there are currently twelve, plus the Dirstrict of Columbia. “No-fault” generally means that drivers are required to have car insurance coverage, and it puts limitations on the other driver’s right to sue you.

Under “no fault”, your car insurance company will pay your medical expenses under your PIP policy, and the other driver’s policy will pay this.

What is BI?

Bodily Injury Liability (BI) compensates injured parties for serious and permanent injury or death caused by the insured. It is important to note that BI coverage is an optional coverage in the State of Florida, which the insured may purchase in different coverage amounts. The insurance policy contains important information about Bodily Injury Coverage, including any applicable policy exclusions.

What is UM (Uninsured Motorist)?

Uninsured Motorist coverage is an optional automobile insurance coverage that pays for the injuries sustained by the policyholder but caused by another motorist. Bodily Injury coverage is an optional coverage in the State of Florida. Therefore, many drivers in Florida operate vehicles without carrying any bodily injury coverage to protect others in the event that they cause an accident.

UM coverage is very important because it allows the insured to file a claim with their own insurance in the event that the negligent driver does not have any coverage. Without UM coverage, the injured party cannot make any claim for injuries if the negligent driver does not have BI coverage.

What if the other driver has no insurance?

Florida law demands drivers to have insurance. However, most of them disregard the law and drive their vehicles uninsured. Insurance companies now offer uninsured/underinsured motorist policies to cover wage loss, physical injury, damage to property and the mental agony one goes through in a vehicle accident involving an insured/underinsured motorist.

Do I have to go to Court?

Every case is different. If you have a minor case with little or no property damage you may be able to be handled the case yourself. Cases with moderate property damage with moderate injuries such as neck and back injuries are usually settled before trial. Some cases with serious injuries go to court due to settlement negotiations breaking down.

Some cases go to trial because insurance companies are acting in bad faith. Remember your case is unique due to it being you and your medical history is probably different from everyone else. Don’t rely on what other people have told you as they are not you. Again, every case is different and to answer the question generally would not be fair to the individual client. I don’t think any attorney can answer that question accurately without knowing the relevant circumstances of your case.

If you want more information you can order a copy of our Free Book “One Fatal Mistake Could Destroy your Accident Case.” Just go to the order form that is posted on our website.

What will it take to win my personal injury case?

In the state of Florida, just because you were hurt doesn’t mean you are entitled to money. You must prove that the person or entity that injured you was negligent or careless and that it was their negligence or carelessness that caused your injury. In a car accident case you must also prove that your injury is permanent. If you cannot prove this, you will lose. You have a certain number of years to file your injury lawsuit. If you wait too long to sue, you will lose your right to sue.

If you had an injury BEFORE the accident, your injury may be considered an aggravation of a pre-existing injury. In that case, you would only be entitled to be compensated to the extent your injury is now worse. Florida is a comparative negligence state.

That means if the other person was partially at fault for the accident the insurance company will only compensate you for their insured’s portion of fault. For example, you were speeding down the street and the other guy blew the stop sign. The insurance company will consider the fact that you were speeding and the fact that their insured blew the stop sign and will apportion the fault between you and their insured. You will only be compensated for their insured’s portion of fault.

To Schedule a Free Consultation With Attorney Virginia Drogo Call: 888-Your-Claim (888-968-7252)

YOU MAY NOT NEED AN ATTORNEY! DOWNLOAD MY BOOK FOR FREE TO LEARN MORE

For Ordering Copies Of Our FREE BOOKS Or To Receive
Our Newsletters Just Dial 800-363-8182

You can call our toll free number to get some valuable information on accident claims. Just leave your name, address and email address, and we will send you our FREE GUIDE to Accident Claims.

“One Fatal Mistake Could Destroy Your Accident Case”

This guide may help you in avoiding possible mistakes that can jeopardize your potential accident claim.

Attorney Virginia Drogo, an experienced South Florida serious injury lawyer, represents injured victims of South Florida in the cities of Hollywood, Naples, Miami, Miami Gardens, North Miami Beach, South Miami Heights, Del Ray, Lake Worth, Boynton Beach, Margate, Coral Springs, Pompano Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Tamarac, Sunrise, Davie, Cooper City, Pembroke Pines, Miramar, Hialeah, Leisure City, Kendall, Kendall Lakes, Homestead, Pinecrest, and Princeton.